Taking New Strides

I am currently trying to learn a new lesson, one that is exceptionally difficult for me because I am a bit of a strong-willed woman. Don’t get me wrong, I love taking things in and going with the flow, but there are some things that I am fairly immovable on; one thing in particular is respect. After working in the same job for 4 years, I have established my position and gained respect from those I have worked beside and gained loyalty and trust from. However, I have this one manager who has only been there for maybe 2 or 3 years and I clash explosively with. This manager is very big on respect as well and demands it from everyone; an attitude which I have been adapting myself and have so been acting on at work. Recently we had a rather heated argument about him not showing me respect of any kind. The way I saw the situation was that we were equals even though I am a lead manager and he is an assistant manager. Evidently I was mistaken and he informed me that I needed to earn his respect first. For almost a week now I have gone over the confrontation in my mind and tried to see the situation from all angles. Today I have arrived at a conclusion that is not easy for me to accept but it is a challenge I am willing to face and overcome; In order to be treated with the respect I desire, I must first swallow my pride and the notion that “I’m right and you’re wrong”. I must be patient and courteous, selfless and a better team player, and above all; respectful regardless of the situation. I have decided that I do not want to have confrontation with my teammates because then there will be a breakdown in our structure at work. I have made a promise to myself that I will work hard to earn his respect and he has agreed to speak softer to me in return. I feel great relief that this issue has a solution and I feel that every day brings me closer to my personal goals.

 

Food for thought.

One Reply to “Taking New Strides”

Leave a Reply

